Wrap it Up! A Quick, Healthy Supper

I cannot spare the time to tell you how busy my life gets. I don’t think I have to, given the sporadic nature of blog updates this season. Sure, I have a decent excuse (two months of recovery from my cycling accident), but, in the interest of making the most of the little time I do have, it’s best when I discover or create dishes that are extremely quick and extremely tasty. I’m not talking picking up the phone and calling for a pizza, mind you, but I do have a recipe here that takes probably less time than waiting for that pizza, plus it’s FAR better for you!

The ingredients can be up to you. I usually use a fresh fish fillet, but you can use a chicken cutlet, pork tenderloin medallions, or any other relatively thin piece of meat… not to mention firm tofu.

On a piece of parchment paper large enough to cover my intended meal several times, I put 1/2 cup of cooked grains (whole wheat couscous here, 3 PPV), usually full of green onions and/or fresh herbs.

Green beans cross-hatched on top of 1/2 cup couscous with green onions

Green beans cross-hatched on top of 1/2 cup couscous with green onions

I layer lots of super-fresh veggies, spices, and more herbs atop the grains.

Carrots and summer squash join in. I like making things pretty.

Carrots and summer squash join in. I like making things pretty.

A whirl of orange bell pepper and an explosion of late-harvest cherry tomatoes. A spray of oil and fresh-ground pepper with a hint of sea salt.

A whirl of orange bell pepper and an explosion of late-harvest cherry tomatoes. A spray of oil and fresh-ground pepper with a hint of sea salt.

Fresh, chopped herbs and smoked Spanish paprika guarantee a delicious flavor.

Fresh, chopped herbs and smoked Spanish paprika guarantee a delicious flavor.

I then place the protein (5 ounces of albacore tuna, 3 PPVs) at the very top, with a slice or two of citrus and a spray of extra virgin olive oil
(1 PPV).

A 5-ounce albacore tuna steak and some Meyer lemon. We're ready to call it a wrap!

A 5-ounce albacore tuna steak and some Meyer lemon. We’re ready to call it a wrap!

I fold the paper around the food: First I fold the sides that are closer to the food over the edge of the food. Then I roll the long sides up over the food, then roll the two sides together. If they don’t hold together, I either crumple them until they do, use a skewer through the paper, or just staple them.

Two packs of delicious, ready for cooking!

Two packs of delicious, ready for cooking!

Then I bake the packets at 400 degrees (Fahrenheit) for 20-25 minutes, depending on the fish thickness. The packet steams the fish in its savory juices, as well as those of the vegetables and herbs. The grains absorb the juices, too, containing all that flavor. YUM!

Pardon the lack of specifics here. The important things in this recipe are the type of protein, the parchment, the cooking temperature, and the cooking time. All else requires your creativity.

What have you cooked in parchment or foil? How did it turn out? Please let us know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

